Activities

Heritage tours

Guided heritage tours

On foot or by bus, in the company of a guide, explore the streets of the former company town of Arvida. The tours are available for groups and by reservation only.

 

The reservation of the bus can be done by the client. Our partner, the Société de Transport du Saguenay, remains at your disposal for your journeys and discoveries! For more details on its offers, consult its website by clicking the following link : https://sts.saguenay.ca/

For more information, call us at 418-695-7278.

Source : Sir William Price Heritage Center.

Arvida, City of Aluminium

 

Balado discovery.

While touring whithin Arvida, you will have a chance to learn about its faboulous history!

Aerial view of Arvida. Source : Sir William Price Heritage Center.

School area

The recognition of Arvida as Quebec’s 13th protected heritage site and the possible nomination of Arvida at UNESCO are significant to all of us, regardless of age. That is why the Arvida Historical Centre and its team are proud to present eight activities adapted to each cycle of primary school and pertaining to our exhibition : Arvida, City of Aluminum. Our educational program comprises two sections, a virtual and a physical one, each of them proposing four activities. The virtual section takes the students back to the days of the town’s construction. As for the physical section, it invites them to explore social, artistic and scientific themes.

Teacher section

Target audience : all cycles of primary school
Minimum/maximum : ten to thirty students
Location : in class or in the computer lab
Duration : 60 minutes per activity

Click here to see the full educational program
Click here to access the activities.

St. Joseph 1959-1960. Source : Commission scolaire de la Jonquière.

Virtual section

1 – Surveying the land (1st, 2nd and 3rd cycles)

This interactive and immersive game invites players of all ages to build the Washington of the North in multiple steps. The players become actors in the development of Arvida. This game gives the impression of truly partaking in the construction of a company town. Moreover, it allows one to understand the magnitude of such an undertaking.

2– Building the town (1st, 2nd and 3rd cycles)

After surveying the land and laying out the streets, the company is ready to erect the city. The player must build a block of houses. This drag-and-drop game allows the player to place the houses, buildings, trees and street furniture on this block.

3 – Preparing the promotion of the town (2nd and 3rd cycles)

This game takes place in the engineer’s office. By using the archive plans on the desk, the player must find the relevant information in order to calculate the area of two of Arvida’s house models.

4 – Promoting of the town (2nd and 3rd cycles)

This game’s form resembles a dictation with blanks to be filled. The player must complete advertising texts (in English) in order to promote the town worldwide and attract workers. He or she must praise the merits of Arvida. Once again, the game is set in the engineer’s office. However, this time, the player will have to complete texts using the archival documents. The words to be dragged to complete the sentences are placed at the bottom of the screen.

 

Physical section

1 – Story time with Samuel Archibald (2nd and 3rd cycles)

With inspiration from an excerpt from Arvida, a collection of short stories by Samuel Archibald, the children are invited to create a short story set in the early years of the city of Arvida. It is also possible for them to present their story to their classmates afterwards.

2 – Engraving aluminum postcards (1st, 2nd and 3rd cycles)

Students have the opportunity to let their imagination flourish by creating a unique engraving on the material that brought Arvida to existence: aluminum.

3 – The properties of aluminum (2nd and 3rd cycles)

Aluminum has several properties and this experiment allows young people to familiarise themselves with the principle of static electricity and ion conduction.

4 – L’hymne d’Arvida (3rd cycle)

The musical score for L’hymne d’Arvida is intended for music lovers, and is made available to young people to allow them to recreate the city’s anthem. They can also use inspiration from the music to create a short play taking place during the early years of the city of Arvida.

Activités

Circuits patrimoniaux

Visites patrimoniales guidées

À pied ou en autobus, explorez les rues de l’ancienne ville de compagnie d’Arvida en compagnie d’un guide. Les visites sont disponibles pour les groupes et sur réservation seulement.

La réservation de l’autobus doit être effectuée par le client. Notre partenaire, la Société de Transport de Saguenay, demeure à votre disposition pour vos réservations! Afin d’obtenir davantage de détails auprès d’eux, vous pouvez consulter leur site web en cliquant sur https://sts.saguenay.ca/

Pour plus d’informations, composez le 418-695-7278.

Source : Centre d'histoire Sir-William-Price, collection Gil Lemieux.

Arvida, cité de l'aluminium

 

Vous pouvez également visiter Arvida, cité de l’aluminium, de façon autonome en téléchargeant l’application gratuite  Baladodécouverte sur votre appareil mobile, à partir de App Store ou de Google Play Store ou en cliquant sur le lien suivant : circuit balado.

En téléchargeant l’application mobile avant votre visite, accédez à tout le contenu du circuit pendant vos déplacements sans avoir besoin de connexion Internet.

Découvrez l’histoire et le patrimoine d’Arvida, en vous imprégnant de l’esprit du lieu!

 

Vue aérienne d'Arvida. Source : Centre d'histoire Sir-William-Price

Zone scolaire

La déclaration d’Arvida en tant que 13e site patrimonial protégé du Québec et la possible mise en candidature d’Arvida à l’UNESCO sont des éléments qui nous touchent tous, du plus petit au plus grand. En ce sens, l’équipe du Centre d’histoire Arvida est fière de vous offrir huit activités adaptées à chacun des cycles du primaire en lien avec notre exposition Arvida, cité de l’aluminium. Notre programme éducatif se compose de deux volets, l’un étant virtuel et l’autre physique, chacun proposant quatre activités. Le volet virtuel plonge les élèves dans la construction de la cité de l’aluminium. Le volet physique, quant à lui, explore les dimensions sociale, artistique et scientifique.

Section professeur

Clientèle visée : tous les cycles du primaire
Minimum/maximum : 10/30 élèves
Lieu : en classe ou au laboratoire d’informatique
Durée : 60 min/activité

Consulter le programme éducatif complet.
Cliquez ici pour avoir accès aux activités.

Saint-Joseph 1959-1960, 8e année. Source : Commission scolaire de la Jonquière.

Volet virtuel

1 –Arpentage des terres (1er, 2e et 3e cycles)

Sous la forme d’un jeu interactif et immersif qui s’adresse aux jeunes comme aux plus âgés, nous proposons un jeu où les joueurs sont amenés à bâtir la « Washington du Nord » par étapes. Ils deviennent des acteurs dans la construction d’Arvida. Ce jeu donne l’impression aux joueurs de réellement se lancer dans la construction d’une ville de compagnie et leur permet de comprendre l’ampleur d’un tel chantier.

2– Construction de la ville (1er, 2e et 3e cycles)

Après l’arpentage des terres et le tracé des rues, la compagnie procède à la construction de la ville. Le joueur a la responsabilité de construire un bloc d’habitations. Ce jeu, du genre « glisser-déplacer », permet au joueur de placer les maisons, les bâtiments, les arbres et le mobilier urbain sur ce bloc.

3 – Préparation à la promotion de la ville (2e et 3e cycles)

Ce jeu se déroule dans le bureau de l’ingénieur. À partir de plans d’archives disposés sur le bureau, le joueur doit trouver l’information pertinente afin d’effectuer le calcul de la superficie de deux modèles de maisons d’Arvida.

4 –Promotion de la ville (2e et 3e cycles)

Le jeu se présente sous forme de dictée trouée. Le joueur doit compléter des textes de publicités en anglais afin de faire la promotion de la ville à l’international et d’attirer les travailleurs. Il devra vanter les charmes d’Arvida. Le jeu se déroule toujours sur le bureau de l’ingénieur, mais cette fois, il devra compléter les textes à l’aide des documents d’archives mis à sa disposition. Au bas de l’écran seront disposés les mots à glisser pour compléter les phrases.

 

Volet physique

1 –Heure du conte avec Samuel Archibald (2e et 3e cycles)

En s’inspirant d’un extrait du recueil de nouvelles Arvida de Samuel Archibald, les jeunes sont invités à créer à leur tour une petite histoire se déroulant lors des premières années de la ville d’Arvida. Il leur est également possible de présenter leur histoire à leurs camarades par la suite.

2 – Carte postale en aluminium à graver (1er, 2e et 3e cycles)

Les élèves ont la possibilité de laisser aller leur imagination en créant une gravure unique sur le matériau à la source de la création d’Arvida : l’aluminium.

3 – Les propriétés de l’aluminium (2e et 3e cycles)

L’aluminium ayant plusieurs propriétés, cette expérience permet aux jeunes de se familiariser avec le principe de l’électricité statique et de la conduction des ions.

4 – L’hymne d’Arvida (3e cycle)

S’adressant aux passionnés de musique, la partition musicale de L’hymne d’Arvida est rendue disponible aux jeunes afin de leur permettre de recréer cette pièce. Il leur est également possible de s’inspirer de la musique pour créer une courte pièce de théâtre se situant temporellement dans les premières années de la ville d’Arvida.