About us

History

Plan for Arvida, Harry Brainerd and Hjalmar Skougor, 1925. Source : City of Saguenay.

Since 1987, Sir William Price Heritage Centre’s mission is to promote the historical, architectural, urbanistic and industrial heritage of the Jonquière borough of the City of Saguenay. From the beginning, SWPHC has been developing its expertise and has become a reference in the development of the heritage and the preservation of Jonquière’s identity.

In 2016, following a request from the Comité Organisateur pour la Reconnaissance Patrimoniale d’Arvida (CORPA), the Sir William Price Heritage Centre has been in charge of putting forward Arvida’s heritage. Through the steps to recognize the Arvida heritage, a museum component has been created, the Arvida Historical Centre. This new museum section purpose is to promote and represent local heritage, while sitting as a significant player in the process of recognizing the heritage of Arvida.

 

Message from board of directors

In progress.

Message from general manager

In progress.

Team

Josée Bergeron, interim general manager

Josée Bergeron has been the executive director since July 2018. A trained historian, she was introduced to the museum world during her doctoral studies at UQAM. Passionate about museology and heritage, this is how she found her place in the field of dissemination and promotion. After spending some years in Montreal, as well a very instructive period at the Musée de la mémoire vivante in St-Jean-Port-Joli, she returned to the Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean region in 2011 where she worked for the City of Saguenay for seven years. This is how management became a field of expertise and of increasing interest for her. She has a vision of scope and future for the Arvida Heritage Centre and the Sir William Price Heritage Centre.

Annie Fortin, project manager

Annie work from the center since summer 2016. She worked as an historian for the center before she became a project manager in 2017. She owns a master’s degree in history from Université Paris-Sorbonne in France and a bachelor’s degree in history from University of Quebec at Chicoutimi.

Julie Desmeules, Public services and communications coordonnator

Since returning to the Heritage Centre in May 2019, Julie has developed an expertise in the field of social acceptability and communications as an analyst in community relations for a major project in development. This learning experience contributed to expanding the knowledge and skills acquired during her master’s degree in project management. Now she can combine her expertise with her passion, history, field in which she holds a bachelor’s degree.

Cassandra Fortin, Museum mediator

The newest addition to the Heritage Centre team, Cassandra is a graduate of Laval University, where she earned a bachelor’s degree in historical sciences and heritage studies. Specializing in ethnology, she returns from Europe where she completed her master’s degree in heritage management and cultural landscapes. Now a museum mediator, she wants to become involved in the local community.

Louise Plante, administrative assistant

Louise work at Auberge Villa Pachon for the 18 years. She also work part-time as administrative assistant at the Sir William Price Centre since 2011.

Nicolas Blackburn, janitor

In progress.

À propos de nous

Historique

Plan lithographique d'Arvida, par Harry Brainerd et Hjalmar Skougor, 1925. Source : Ville de Saguenay.

Le Centre d’histoire Sir-William-Price a pour mission la mise en valeur des patrimoines historique, architectural, urbanistique et industriel de l’arrondissement de Jonquière à Ville de Saguenay, et ce, depuis 1987.  Depuis toutes ces années le Centre d’histoire Sir-William-Price a développer son expertise et est devenu un acteur incontournable dans la mise en valeur du patrimoine et de la préservation de l’identité du secteur.

C’est en 2016, à la suite d’une demande du Comité Organisateur pour la Reconnaissance Patrimoniale d’Arvida (CORPA), que le Centre d’histoire Sir-William-Price a eu l’opportunité de mettre en valeur l’héritage de la ville d’Arvida. C’est donc dans la foulée des démarches visant la reconnaissance d’Arvida à divers paliers, que s’est concrétisée cette requête par la création d’un volet muséal arvidien, le Centre d’histoire Arvida. Ce dernier est plus particulièrement en charge de l’interprétation et de la mise en valeur du patrimoine de ce secteur, tout en siégeant comme acteur important pour les démarches visant la reconnaissance patrimoniale d’Arvida.

Mot de la présidence

À venir

Mot de la direction

À venir

Équipe

Josée Bergeron, directrice générale

Josée Bergeron occupe le poste de directrice générale depuis juillet 2018. Historienne de formation, elle s’est initiée au monde muséal pendant sa scolarité de doctorat à l’UQAM. Passionnée de muséologie et de patrimoine, c’est ainsi qu’elle a trouvé sa place dans le domaine de la diffusion et de la mise en valeur. De retour dans la région du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean en 2011, après quelques années dans la métropole et un passage très formateur au Musée de la mémoire vivante à St-Jean-Port-Joli, elle a œuvré à la Ville de Saguenay pendant 7 ans. C’est ainsi que la gestion est devenue un champ d’expertise et d’intérêt grandissant pour elle. Elle a une vision d’envergure et d’avenir pour le Centre d’histoire Arvida et le Centre d’histoire Sir-William-Price.

Annie Fortin, coordonnatrice aux expositions et aux collections

Annie travaille au Centre d’histoire Sir-William-Price depuis l’été 2016. Elle travaillait comme historienne avant de devenir chargée de projet en 2017. Elle est diplômée d’un baccalauréat en histoire de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi ainsi que d’un Master en histoire de l’Université Paris-Sorbonne en France.

Julie Desmeules, coordonnatrice des services publiques et des communications

De retour au centre d’histoire depuis mai 2019, Julie a entre-temps développé une expertise dans le domaine de l’acceptabilité sociale et de la communication en tant qu’analyste aux relations avec les communautés pour un grand projet en développement. Cette expérience formatrice a contribué a développer ses connaissances et compétences acquises à la maîtrise en gestion de projet. Maintenant, elle peut combiner son expertise à sa passion, l’histoire, domaine dans lequel elle possède un baccalauréat. 

Louise Plante, adjointe administrative

À l’emploi de l’Auberge Villa Pachon depuis 18 ans, Louise travaille simultanément comme secrétaire administrative au Centre d’histoire Sir-William-Price depuis 2011.

Nicolas Blackburn, concierge

À venir.